+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: can i keep a boa and a ball python together?

can i keep a boa and a ball python together?

I have a columbian rainbow boa and i was wondering if it was safe to keep a balll python in the same tank as the boa? i dont think it is safe but i thought i should ask to see what othere people think because im kinda new at keeping snakes.

Hi,B)

In a nutshell i 've got to say no. You say you are new to keeping snakes, well in that case only expierienced keepers should try this and even then it is not fool proof. All snakes are carnivores and some are even cannabalistic, there is also territorial disputes. Research both animals requirements completely as one may require more space than the other. You don't want to wake and see one of them dead or missing. Some success can be had, but personally it is not worth risking it, also individual animals within a species may have different temperments and tolerance values so once again you have to really know about your snakes. I tend to find ball pytons shy and docile snakes that like their own space. If it does go wrong it can also become costly as snakes aren't exactly cheap either! hope this helps

Ooooo...not a good idea.
    Usually alright when they're the same age, same species. But a boa and a ball is asking for trouble.

Never alright. Even two of the same species and starting size will first off not stay the same size and that creates big problems. Someday, sometime, one snake will suddenly become either territorial or will decide fresh snake meat should be on the menu.

Another problem is one snake usually becomes stressed by having a cage mate.

Yet another very common problem is one animal being very generous and gifting the other with parasites or disease. Treating one animal with mites is bad enough, do you want to double your pleasure with two in treatment?