+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast

Thread: Naturalistic snake enclosures

Banned

Naturalistic snake enclosures

Anyone out there using naturalistic enclosures for their snakes, especially larger ones like Boa constrictors? I have plenty of experience with naturalistic enclosures for my frogs, but I have to admit that my snakes are still in the dark ages of aspen shavings and a water dish. I hate looking at such minimalistic cages, but I'm not sure where to begin on improving them. Where do you find plants that they won't crush, and how do you heat them through a thick layer of substrate? Is there any truth to the tales of moisture in the substrate causing skin infections, or is that just an urban legend based on bad husbandry? Slayer, Ivory, I know you guys can probably steer me in the right direction...

Check out The Art of Keeping Snakes by Philippe de Vosjoli. its all about keeping snakes in naturalistic setups with fully bioactive soils.
    "Behavior is WHAT AN ANIMAL DOES, the body is what it does it with. An animal in a shoe or sweaterbox, has no behavior, there is no need for behavior. You the keeper has taken that away."
    Frank Retes

Now I lay you down to sleep,
    Because my choke is sunk so deep.
    Feel the rush your world goes black,
    All because I took your back

(unknown author)

WWW.GRACIENY.COM

Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Slayer View Post
    Check out The Art of Keeping Snakes by Philippe de Vosjoli. its all about keeping snakes in naturalistic setups with fully bioactive soils.
    Just ordered it from amazon.

and I just saved money on my car insurance!

Banned
    So amazon says it won't be delivered until june 8th, any good reading to do on the web before then?

wow june 8th
    search the reptile magazine archives I recall reading a live planted tank with BRB in it